It was while on a leisurely drive to the country, when I spotted what I expected to be the biggest thrill since I got my Barbie Olympic village- a goat farm.

Now goats are like the ugly, greedy cousins of sheep, but do they ever taste good! Anyone who’s had curry goat knows what I’m talking about.

Anyhow, we pulled in, as 20 beady eyes watched us park our car and enter the store. I could tell they didn’t like us. I call it goat instinct.

I should have known once I stepped in, that I was going to be disappointed.  If I was in the market for goat soap- then I wouldn’t be disappointed. If I was in the market for chevre, then  I wouldn’t be disappointed either.  I was curious to try one of their butter tarts, made from goat butter, but sadly they had run out the day before. But what I really wanted, was  farm fresh goat meat.  I’d promised a friend that I would make her some curry goat as part of her wedding gift- so I wanted to make sure it would be a meal  that the bride and groom would savour forever.

I asked if they sold goat meat, explaining I needed some to make a curry. He recommended their stewing meat and directed me to a shelf in their upright freezer that had packages of frozen goat meat, gift wrapped in butcher paper.

Perfect!

He wove interesting stories of romance, adventure and travel that led him to a life on a goat farm. I was impressed to meet someone so young with a passion for the farming life.

When I got home, I ripped open the butcher paper only to find… bones!  I realize goats aren’t the most fleshy animals, but this was literally a package of rib bone and bits. By the time I’d finished trimming the fat,  it was just bones.

With no time to waste, I drove 30 minutes to the closest West Indian store. Bought a bag of goat meat (shoulder, with a few bits of rib). Defrosted over night. Seasoned it up with salt, Jamaican curry powder, lotsa garlic, onion, scallion, black pepper, allspice berries, and thyme. Allowed it to sit for over 24 hours in the fridge. The next day; tossed in a whole scotch bonnet pepper and slow cooked it for 4 hours in a dutch pot that’s older than most of my nieces and nephews.

In the end, I learned a valuable lesson: Next time you receive something that’s wrapped up, make sure you sneak a peak before you accept it.

This is for you Lissa and Errold. Congratulations on your wedding!

