This bread is a dessert in itself- rye bread with cranberries, raisins and currants. This recipe pairs well with a glass of vanilla flavoured  almond milk.I call it, Golden Rye Crunch

Serves: 1 (maybe 2 if you’re in a sharing mood)

Now this would have been our dessert, if  it wasn’t for a jar of home preserved pears. I love fresh pears, but i’m not too keen on canned- whether its store bought or home-canned. If they were improperly canned, and I was an unscrupulous person, I could sell them online to an eager buyer as botox.  Fortunately, I came up with a less indictable idea…Summer Bread Pudding!

The idea went something like this :

  • Scald 1-1/4 cup of milk add 4 cardamom pods, cinnamon stick. Allow to cool.
  • Cut 6 slices of bread into cubes. Set aside.
  • Spread 2 Tbsps melted butter over the bottom of a glass baking dish
  • Sprinkle 1/4 cup*  light brown sugar over melted  butter
  • Cover bottom with sliced pears, raspberries, blueberries

Now for the pudding. In a separate bowl:

  •  Beat 4 eggs 
  • Add 1/4 cup sugar
  • Add 1/2 tsp. each, nutmeg, vanilla
  • Pour cooled, strained milk into the egg mixture
  • Add 1 tsp. orange zest
  • Mix bread cubes into egg mixture. Let it sit until starts to slightly break apart. Pour over fruit. Bake till happily golden in a 370 oven.

(*I used a little sugar here because I was using home preserved pears which were quite sweet. If they were fresh, I’d probably use 1-1/4 cup)

The good news is that the dessert received thumbs up from my two scrutineers and no one got botulism. The bad news is that I still have 3-1/2 jars of pears to go.

